Tales from Suburbia: The Beginning

It’s only been a few days since I left my humble abode for good, the little attic apartment I’ve called home for so long. Buried amongst the high-rises of downtown Vancouver, the 100 year-old house adorned in golden wallpaper, which shone multicolour into its halls through stain glass, is mere moments from becoming just another memory .  Against the better judgement of my pride and independence, I’ve decided to embrace what was perhaps inevitable all along — moving back home with my parents. But I assure you, or maybe I just insist on assuring myself, it’s temporary.

Meanwhile, a fascinating world exists beyond the borders of Vancouver proper, and the suburbs become a muse for a new lens with which to see the world. Burnaby, which my brother recently described as “a place where people wear sweatpants…as pants.” Burnaby, where I spent most of my childhood becoming the person I am today. Burnaby, where the sky train passing by makes for the heartbeat of the people that dwell just steps from the Lougheed Highway, and where walking by the shopping mall is just something that you can’t avoid.

Here’s to mom’s fridge, here’s to infrequent bus departures, here’s to awkward encounters with high school compadres…here’s to Burnaby!

Stay tuned kids, my Tales from Suburbia have only just begun!

…and wait, where’s the closest 7-11? I feel like a Slurpee.

Leave a comment