Renaissance.

routine: noun
a sequence of actions regularly followed:
I settled down into a routine of work and sleep

Not long ago, I’d comfortably settled into my own routine, one that had been years in the making. Much of my time to date had been caught up in the world of academia while I completed a liberal arts degree. I worked many different jobs, some longer than others, some more fulfilling than others. I invested the rest of myself into the many relationships that shaped the way that I have come to understand love and family. There were other things too, when there was time.

Meanwhile, I’ve always sought after spontaneity, challenge, and adventure. I’ve done many things I’m proud of, amongst which highlights include travelling the world (South Korea, New York, and Berlin to name a few), fronting a band for years, and accumulating a roster of friends that are the truest of true. I came to realize in the last year, however, that experiences rooted in my desires were lacking. I loved my job, I loved my home, I loved my friends, and I loved my day to day. Nonetheless, something was missing.

A month ago, I gave my landlord of four years my notice and decided to put my things into storage. From that moment onward, I knew only one thing: that really, I didn’t know what the hell I was doing, where I was going, or who I was going to become. Shortly thereafter, I worked my last shift at an on-and-off job of almost six years; it was a beautiful time, but again, it was also a beautiful time for change.

Packing up my home over the last few weeks, I’ve stumbled across a slew of ephemera I’ve stored over the years; teenage diaries, love letters, song lyrics, and photographs. Some made me cry, but most of them made me laugh. These tangible memories brought me to the realization, that the one consistency in my life has always been documentation. It is this part of myself that has been missing in the last year; writing, and the spontaneity of the action of writing itself. So, it’s time for me to write again, and this time, I am excited to share my writing with whoever will listen.

I revel in the question mark ahead, and look forward to the ensuing wandering words of a wanderer…me.

I’m Suzy Sabla and these are some of the things that I do and think about.  I can’t promise that they will always be thrilling, but I can certainly promise that they will be honest.

“There are as many worlds as there are kinds of days, and as an opal changes its colors and its fire to match the nature of a day, so do I.”

– John Steinbeck

Leave a comment